Jan 30, 2013; New Orleans, LA, USA; The busts of the 2012 Pro Football Hall of Fame class at the Super Bowl XLVII Experience at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center. Clockwise from top: Chris Doleman and Curtis Martin and Willie Roaf and Cortez Kennedy and Demontti Dawson and Jack Butler. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

NFL Hall of Fame Dilemma

Tomorrow the NFL Hall of Fame Selection Comittee will elect the 2013 class the day before the Super Bowl as per tradition. At least four players will get in but no more than seven, and only 5 players from the modern era. The dilemma revolves around just exactly who gets in. This year’s class is stacked with deserving nominees, but not everyone can get in. At least this year.

Modern Era Nominees:

  • Charles Haley
  • Michael Strahan
  • Bill Parcells
  • Andre Reed
  • Warren Sapp
  • Larry Allen
  • Jonathan Ogden
  • Jerome Bettis
  • Tim Brown
  • Cris Carter
  • Art Modell
  • Aeneas Williams
  • Kevin Greene
  • Will Shields
  • Eddie Debartolo
Senior nominees:
  • Curley Culp
  • Dave Robinson

So who gets in and who gets left out is the question? You can only choose 5 of the modern era nominees.

No matter who gets in people are going to be upset that any of these candidates are left out.

Charles Haley has been passed up year after year and is considered to be one of the biggest snubs. Charles Haley owns 5 Super Bowl rings 3 with the Dallas Cowboys and two with the San Francisco 49ers. Considering the emphasis that is placed on rings for so many NFL players, for instance Tony Romo’s lack of rings, it is incredible that a man with 5 keeps being passed up. His resume boasts more than just rings, he also has over 100 sacks.

Unfortunately, Haley will likely miss out on induction this year.

But Michael Strahan seems to be the consensus no brainer to enter the draft and you’d have to think coach Bill Parcells would join him. Parcells impact on the NFL is undeniable, in the past eleven years, 6 of the Super Bowls were won by coaches who worked under him at one point in time. Odds are lineman Larry Allen, Will Shields, and Jonathan Ogden join them, each having at least 11 Pro Bowl appearances.

That’s 5 right there. That means fan favorite Jerome Bettis won’t make it despite rushing for over 13,000 yards and going out a Super Bowl champion.  Eddie Debartolo who led the San Francisco 49ers to 5 Super Bowl titles as owner is going to be overlooked. Art Modell, owner of the Baltimore Ravens won’t get in either. Tim Brown and Cris Carter are going to be passed up despite being two of the greatest wide receivers of all time.

Kevin Greene is bound to be overlooked despite being 3rd all time on the sacks list behind only the best of the best: Bruce Smith and Reggie White.

Incredibly I think Aeneas Williams, Warren Sapp, and Andre Reed seem like the obvious choices to not get inducted this year. Aeneas Williams has a reputation as being a ball hawk but is 19th on the all time interceptions list with 55 picks. Warren Sapp didn’t eclipse the 100 sack mark like other defensive players nominated. And Andre Reed is definitely stuck behind Tim Brown and Cris Carter as far as wide receiver category despite being more successful as a player having made it to, but never winning 4 Super Bowls.

Tags: Hall Of Fame NFL Super Bowl

comments powered by Disqus