NFC West: Biggest question for each team in 2021

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse
NFC West

Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

The division has sent a team to the Super Bowl four of the past eight seasons. But it could be a very intriguing year for the members of the NFC West.

It’s a division that many have regarded as the best in the NFL the last decade or so. But 2021 could prove to be a year of upheaval in the NFC West as there have been some major changes within the foursome in terms of arrivals and departures.

It’s safe to say that the Seattle Seahawks remain the most consistent of the quartet. The team has reached the playoffs eight times in the past nine seasons and quarterback Russell Wilson has yet to miss a start since being drafted by the team in 2012.

But a 5-0 start this past year couldn’t prevent Pete Carroll’s club from being knocked out at home in the first round of the playoffs by the rival Rams.

Every NFC West team has won the division at least once since 2015.

Speaking of Sean McVay’s squad, there’s a major change behind center for the club as the franchise orchestrated a trade for Matthew Stafford and sent Jared Goff to Detroit.

The Cardinals have a lot of new faces in J.J. Watt, A.J. Green and Malcolm Butler but will legendary wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald return for an 18th season?

And there’s Kyle Shanahan’s San Francisco 49ers, who was bitten by the injury bug badly in 2020. The club fell to 6-10 a year ago after a 13-3 finish and a Super Bowl appearance the previous season. Can they bounce back and recapture the NFC West for the second time in three years.

NOTE: Teams are listed in order of finish in 2020.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse